LANDMARK
Heritage

At the very heart of Central, Hong Kong stands LANDMARK, an extraordinary complex of buildings that has grown from a small, single retail property – Alexandra Building in 1904 to an internationally acclaimed retail destination, truly unique to Hong Kong. LANDMARK represents the retail sector of Hongkong Land’s Central portfolio including 4 iconic buildings – LANDMARK ATRIUM, LANDMARK ALEXANDRA, LANDMARK CHATER and LANDMARK PRINCE’S and the LANDMARK brand was born on March 2012.

The flagship of the LANDMARK complex – LANDMARK ATRIUM – has its roots in the 1920s, when Hongkong Land acquired the former site of Hong Kong Hotel after a fire gutted a large portion of the establishment. Completed in 2 phases, in 1980 and 1983, LANDMARK ATRIUM brought together the world’s greatest concentration of luxury brands in the heart of Central and gave birth to one of today’s most recognisable meeting spots, the LANDMARK ATRIUM fountain. In 2002, an ambitious LANDMARK Scheme was also set in place, which introduced 2 new levels of retail spaces and saw the construction of The Landmark Mandarin Oriental.

The triangular land housing Alexandra Building started the retail business in 1904. In the 1950s, the building was redeveloped into Alexandra House, which was again revamped in 1975 into the current 37-storey tower. Now known as LANDMARK ALEXANDRA, it was the first LANDMARK building to have access to the MTR and in the 1980s, it was fully connected to the other iconic buildings through pedestrian footbridges. Additionally, Hongkong Land constructed a small garden in front of LANDMARK ALEXANDRA in 1982, which was subsequently handed over to the Urban Service Department for maintenance.

LANDMARK PRINCE’S is another iconic building which was completed in 1965 bringing with it a unique feature of Central that is still seen today – the first pedestrian bridge joining the complex to Mandarin Oriental Hong Kong. This and subsequent pedestrian bridges built in the 1970s have become a unique feature of Central, and today, connect with more than 40 properties around the Central district. In 2002, the building saw an ambitious renovation which results in a luxury retail floor with a comprehensive children’s offer.

Named after Sir Paul Chater, LANDMARK CHATER opened in 2002 and was formerly known as Swire House. LANDMARK CHATER is renowned for being the very first ARMANI concept store outside Milan. It consists of EMPORIO ARMANI and GIORGIO ARMANI flagship stores, dining options ARMANI/AQUA and ARMANI/PRIVé as well as shops selling the group’s cosmetics (GIORGIO ARMANI BEAUTY), children’s clothing (ARMANI JUNIOR) and flowers (ARMANI FIORI).

Deeply rooted in the history of Hong Kong, LANDMARK has played an iconic role in the development of the Central district as a destination for luxury shopping and continues to do so with leading innovations and accolades being bestowed upon the prestigious retail destination today.

  - end -

Please visit LANDMARK Pressroom at http://landmarkpressroom.hk

The Landmark Atrium, c. 1980s In 1928, the Company purchased the site (the part of the Hong Kong Hotel facing Pedder Street and Des Voeux Road Central which was gutted by fire in 1926). In 1932, Gloucester Building was completed on the site. In 1977, Glouester Building was demolished to make way for Gloucester Tower which was completed in 1980. On New Year’s Day 1926, a larger portion of the old Hong Kong Hotel (the part on the Des Voeux Road Central & Pedder Street corner) was completely gutted by fire. The company bought this site (26,000 sq.ft) in 1928 for $1,375,000 and developed on it the Gloucester Building which was completed in 1932. The clock surmounting its corner tower becoming one of Central Victoria’s landmarks until 1977 when Gloucester Building was demolished. One of the first post-war decisions made by the Secretary, Mr Bevan Field, was to move HKL offices from Queen’s Building to the first floor of Gloucester Building. First pedestrian bridge built in 1965 between Prince's Building and Mandarin Hotel. Built by Leigh and Orange for Mody and Chater, ready for occupation in September 1904. HKL purchased it in 1927 to make way for the present Prince’s Building completed ahead of schedule in April 1965. Prince's Building c.1904 - Ready for occupation in September 1904. HKL purchased it in 1927 with HK$3 million. Chater House construction site, 2000 Union House c.1962 - At the junction of Pedder Street (left) and Chater Road (right). Swire House c.1977 - Union House was renamed Swire House in 1976. It is the site of current Chater House. King's Building and Union Building c.1958 - These buildings were demolished in 1958, formed the site of Union House, and was renamed Swire House in 1976. Site of current Chater House. This was the triangular western part of the site owned by HKL, whose original lease dates from October 1904. The Chater Road section was let to various shops from time to time, and the Veoux Road side was let in similar manner for many years to A.S. Watson and Co., to Komor & Komor, and to the Hong Kong Stock Exchange. The building was a five-storey flat roof construction. Alexandra Building and Royal Building were demolished in the 1950s in favour of a 13-level block, Alexandra House, and completed in 1956. This in turn was demolished in 1975 and a new 34-level tower and podium has risen in its place. This 2nd generation of Alexandra House was completed in 1956. The Royal Building behind it was demolished and new extension was built. Prince’s Building is seen at the back and The Chartered Bank Bldg on the right.